The SFERA Award

pepeljara_m2.jpgIn an effort to raise the quality standards and popularize and encourage domestic SF production, SFera has been awarding the annual SFERA Award since 1981.The SFERA Award is the only national award for the SF genre in Croatia. It is a recognition of a particular author’s achievement in a specific category. Such recognition extends to the other authors as well, but also towards the SF and the broader public. According to the interpretation of SFera’s Book of Regulations, “SF” is a collective term that encompasses Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror.

The SFERA Award is awarded to the finest achievements in the SF genre, that have been published and/or performed in Croatia, in Croatian language for the first time during the preceding calendar year. The award-winning authors receive a Plaque of the SFera Science Fiction Society, and they ceremoniously put a smaller plaque on the SFERA Awards Statue, popularly known as the Ashtray, during the SFERA Award ceremony which is the central event of SFeraKon, Croatia’s biggest science-fiction convention which is organized by SFera for 30 years running.

List of the winners of the SFERA Award can be found here (in Croatian).